Log in

Upcoming Events: Secondary School Theatre

    • 07/30/2024
    • 6:00 PM
    • Zoom

    • 08/03/2024
    • 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
    • Two Brothers Roundhouse, 205 N. Broadway, Aurora, IL 60505

    Please join us at the Illinois Theatre Association's 2024 ITA Awards of Excellence Celebration and Annual Members' Meeting.


    9:00 am - Check-in and Mixer (one mimosa per registration)

    10:00 am - 10:30 am - Keynote Speaker

    10:30 am - 12:00 pm  Awards of Excellence Celebration Brunch

    12:00 am - 1:00 pm Annual Members' Meeting

    2:00 pm - (optional) Peter and the Starcatcher at Paramount - 

    A limited number of tickets can be purchased here for an additional $50.50.

    Copley Theatre, 8 E. Galena Blvd.

    Aurora, IL 60506

    Early Bird rate ends 6/30/2024. Tickets will increase to $65 per ticket. 

    The Two Brothers Roundhouse has limited capacity, so get your tickets today!

    Keynote Speaker

    Gene Weygandt is an actor. Film: Mea Culpa, The Birdcage, The Babe, Television: Home Improvement, Cybil, Murphy Brown, Chicago Fire, Empire, Chicago Med, Boss, Ellen, Coach, USA High. Broadway: big: The Musical, Wicked, Come From Away 

    Regional: Guys and Dolls, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, 42nd Street, Rock of Ages, A Christmas Story, The Light In the Piazza, Lend me A Tenor, Old Jews Telling Jokes, The Music Man, Me And My Girl, Little Shop of Horrors, Working, Annie, Inspecting Carol and others.

    2024 Awards of Excellence:

    Creative Drama/Theatre for Young Audiences:

    The Children's Theatre of Elgin and Fox Valley Theatre Company
    Accepting the Award is Veronica Comings, President

    Secondary School Theatre:

    J.R. Willard-Rose (Homewood- Flossmoor HS)

    College/University Theatre:

    Kevin Long (Harper College, Chicago Shakespeare Theater)

    Community Theatre:

    Joseph Ennenbach (Stage 212, Morris Theater Guild, Streator Engle Lane, and Princeton's Festival 56)

    Professional Theatre:

    James Calitri (Artistic Director, Festival 56)

    2024 Awards of Honor, ITA Non-Member:

    John Collins (Executive Director, Goodman Theatre)

    2024 Awards of Honor, ITA Member:

    Richard Arnold, Jr. (Production Coordinator, College of DuPage)

    Anne Thurman Mentorship Award:

    Patricia Haynes, 1950-2024 (Mother McAuley HS, founder of 99th Street Summer Theatre)
    Accepting the Award is Erin Fitzpatrick

    • 08/03/2024
    • 2:00 PM
    • Copley Theatre, 8 E. Galena Blvd., Aurora, IL 60506

    Peter and the Starcatcher

    Tossing aside unfortunate adult notions, Peter and the Starcatcher embraces the bonds of camaraderie, love and duty in this Victorian adventure. Adulting is hard! Join Peter on this quest to protect something important — starstuff, and the cheerful spirit of youth itself, in our fanciful rendition of Peter and the Starcatcher.

    Known as the whimsical prequel to Peter Pan, a young orphan is sold into servitude aboard the Neverland-bound ship, the Wasp. But bleak realities of the Victorian age and industrial practices cannot force Peter to grow up, and his enthusiasm is infectious — compelling every young person he meets (and the audience too) to join this ageless adventure.

    Boldly staged in Paramount’s intimate Copley Theatre, a magical place “made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust,” you will leave the empire and set sail for exotic lands with Peter and the precocious Molly Aster, a Starcatcher apprentice. The play captures the spirit of J.M. Barrie’s classic with wordplay, swashbuckling escapades and Paramount’s flair for the dramatic.

    Fans of Wendy and Peter will trace the genesis of Peter Pan and the other iconic characters, including the notorious Captain Hook, in the enchanted world of Neverland.

    See for yourself why Peter and the Starcatcher was the buzz of New York and was nominated for nine Tony Awards and took home five of the coveted distinctions.

    Limited tickets are available for $50.50


Illinois Theatre Association
4055 W. Peterson Ave Suite 105
Chicago, IL 60646


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software